Find stories by date    or keywords  

Remebering the 2003 Oakwood Mutiny


In the early morning of July 27, 2003, a group of 321 armed soldiers led by the Lt. Senior Grade Antonio Trillanes IV (Philippine Navy), and Captains Gerardo Gambala and Milo Maestrecampo (Philippine Army) took over the Oakwood Premier Ayala Center (now Ascott) in Makati City to renounce the alleged corruption of the Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo administration.

18 hours later, after failing to rally support from the public or the armed forces, the soldiers surrendered peacefully and were charged in a general court martial. Not a single shot was fired.

CATEGORY: Defense & Security
The Presidency
The Legislature
The Judiciary
Glenda M. Gloria
Marites Dañguilan-Vitug
Chay Florentino-Hofileña Gemma Bagayaua-Mendoza
Lala Rimando
Marianne Hontiveros
Miss Go
Roel Landingin
Aries Rufo
Copyright © 2010 Public Trust Media Group, Inc.
Disclaimer | Site Rules